Candia Heritage Commission Annual Report 2011

The Candia Heritage Commission, appointed by the selectmen, provides for the proper recognition, use and protection of Candia's historic and cultural resources.

The Commission is developing a plan for the renovation of the Smyth Memorial Building for town use. There were several significant steps toward that goal.

The Commission:

- 1. Met with representatives from the NH Division of Historical Resources and the NH Preservation Alliance to establish the historic Character Defining Features of the Smyth Memorial Building.
- 2. Obtained a report of existing conditions from Town of Candia Code Enforcement Officer.
- 3. Developed a scope of work for the project.
- 4. Received approval for a septic design.
- 5. Applied for and received grants from the National Trust Preservation Funds and the NH Preservation Alliance for feasibility and architectural design services.
- 6. Hired Richard Monahon, Jr., AIA Associates to develop this architectural design and met with him several times.

Other Commission activities:

- 7. Installed marker at the location of the Smyth Schoolhouse that was removed from North Road and reassembled at Sturbridge Village. Dedication will be included in semiguincentennial celebration.
- 8. Organized town-wide roadside cleanup. NH Beautiful awarded the town 400 daffodil bulbs that were planted by the garden club.
- 9. Monitored barn preservation easements.
- 10. Participated in Moore School Agricultural Day
- 11. Participated in Moore School 4th grade Candia History Project, conducting a bus tour of the villages of Candia.
- 12. Participated in Lights of the Hill, opening the Smyth Memorial Building for public enjoyment and displayed the new Semiguincentennial ornament.

The Commission meets the 2nd Thursday of each month at the Town Office. Anyone interested in the rich historic and cultural heritage of our town is welcomed to attend.

Members: Diane Philbrick, chair; Betty Sabean, vice chair; Ron Thomas, secretary; Carleton Robie, selectmen's representative; Ray Cresswell, Carol Howe, Mimi Alberu, alternate; Sarah Giles, alternate.