Outside Burning Permits
FYI: Permits are required by law for outside burning in New Hampshire.
To obtain a required State of NH Fire Permit:
Call the Candia Fire Burn Permit Pager at (603) 639-7179. Leave a voice message with your name, address and call back number. Permits are normally issued between 4:00 PM and 6:00 PM daily. After 6:00 PM permits will not be issued.
- or -
Visit www.nhfirepermit.com to obtain a burn permit from the State of NH. This service is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
The Forest Fire Warden and Deputy Wardens affiliated with Candia Volunteer Fire Department provide burning permits to residents of Candia at no cost. A warden will respond to pages as soon as they are able, but please be aware this is a volunteer fire department and permit writer availability is subject to outside factors.
In addition to writing permits, permit writers are able to answer your questions about regulations and rules for outside burning.
The on-call Warden or Deputy Warden may visit your property in order to ensure the material being burned is allowable by New Hampshire state law.
As per New Hampshire state law, no fire shall be kindled outside without first obtaining a written permit from the forest fire warden (or their representative) of the town where the burning is to be done. Permits are required for all outside burns, unless the ground is covered with snow. Please note that there is no Warden or Deputy Warden on call when the ground is covered with snow.
In the town of Candia, permits are still required if it is raining outside. State laws are specific that any fire kindled in the rain during the day MUST be extinguished as soon as it stops raining as defined in the DRED regulations.
Any person kindling a fire without a permit is liable to the town for all expenses incurred in attending or extinguishing such fire.
No residential trash, treated wood, construction/demolition debris, tires, mattresses, etc. or brush/trees greater than 5" diameter can be burned at any time. If you burn any impermissible material, you will be subject to State fines of up to $2000.00 as well as all costs for the Department to respond and extinguish the illegal fire and for proper disposal of the illegal material.
No fires shall be left unattended at any time without being completely extinguished with water.
Always use caution when burning material on your property, make sure you have extinguishing materials close at hand, and if the fire seems to be getting out of control, contact Candia Fire-Rescue immediately.
Frequently Asked Questions
How large should house numbers be? To assist us in finding your house during an emergency, please be sure that your house
number is posted with 4-inch reflective numbers on both sides of a mailbox or post
permanently installed at the entrance to your property.
How do I dispose of household generated sharps? Read the Disposal Tips for Household Generated Sharps Fact Sheet.
How do I join Fire-Rescue? Submit the Application for Employment with a copy of your cover letter and resume.